Skip to content

Cake Hacker – All Hail the Mini Cake

July 6, 2012

I have squirreled away, in various e-cubby holes, an endless number of delectable cake recipes and decoration ideas.  Far more than any mere mortal could/should use.   I don’t believe I am alone in this.

Truth be told, I rarely bake a cake.  CakeS is just is tooo damn big.  And since my standard cake eating audience is at most 4-5 people, I know two things will happen should I enter cake world.  1.)  A fair bit of waste is going to happen because even the best cake starts to lose its appeal after the third slice in as many days (for most people).  2.) This waste will occur despite MY best attempts because I’ll go ahead and founder on cake if it’s sitting around for a week.   No. Good.

Cue the realization that I own two six inch cake rounds.   On my first attempt, I didn’t mess with adapting a scratch recipe to the new size.  I did, however, determine the right proportions on any standard cake mix. Most of these mixes call for three eggs, most of these mixes contain six cups of cake mix.  Four cups of mix, 2 eggs, 2/3 rds of the oil it  calls for, 2/3 rds the liquid (which in my case is always buttermilk instead of water) makes the perfect amount of batter for 2 6″ rounds.  Use your common sense on baking duration.  Be gone 8″ cake despot, I banish thee.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

