Skip to content

Pucker Up Buttercup – Lemon Meringue Pie Time

June 9, 2012

It’s June.  Time for lemon meringue  pie in all its chilled, tart, fluffy goodness.   Let me go ahead and toot my own horn.   I make a bangin’ lemon meringue.  Pie Crust (as always): half grandma’s, half Martha Stewart’s (although, instead of shortening, I have occasionally been using lard for a butter/lard extravaganza).  Filling and meringue: 3/4 Taste of Home, 1/4 my obsession with citrus sour. Don’t be wimp Taste of Home – throw some zest in that sh!t.

You can access the Taste of Home recipe here – and I’m sure that un-messed with (I can’t help it) it’s just dandy.  However, here are comments from the peanut gallery.

1. Just go ahead and ignore that crust recipe.  Why would you want to make just one crust?  And why would you not take the opportunity to use butter and/or lard.  Come on.

2. Instead of 1/3 cup of lemon juice (weak), I probably juiced a little over 1/2 cup’s worth.  I just balanced it out so that the water called for was displaced by lemon juice.

3. ZEST – at least a tablespoon.  Must make pucker worthy (although not painfully so).

4.  The weird cornstarch/water/sugar goo (chilled) that the recipe calls for to incorporate into the egg whites – surprisingly effective.  I was dubious about the goo, but it made for very silken meringue that was pretty deflation resistant.  I recommend.  Oh, but I added just a quarter teaspoon of cream of tartar.  Justttt to be safe.

There you have it.  One stellar lemon meringue pie.  Be a boss and make one.

Oh, and as someone who is only recently cool with blind baking a solo pie crust: darn near freeze the crust in the pie plate (after docking bottom) before you put parchment paper/pie weights on top (for me, pie beans) and throw it into the oven.  Getting it thoroughly chilled down prevents the parchment from sticking and tragically pulling up the crust 15 minutes later when it’s time for removal.  Am I stating the obvious?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. SPK permalink
    June 10, 2012 12:58 am

    Willing to challenge you to a bangin’ meringue contest.

Leave a Reply

