Skip to content

Testing Cheese-ology’s Chops

October 1, 2010

I had been waiting to try Cheese-ology (on the Loop) with PB, and the stars finally aligned this week, allowing us to make the trip.  Much like I thought ‘Easy A’ had all the makings of a decently funny cinematic romp, but…did not, Cheese-ology was somewhat of a disappointment.  But hey!  We had waited long enough to go that they now have their liquor license.  I was able to enjoy a nice Schlafly Pale Ale with my mac.

To be fair, I also had really, really high expectations (unlike Easy A).  Mac n’cheese restaurant – OMG, OMG, OMG – how could that not be AWESOME!!  I ordered the classic macaroni with cheddar and american cheese – thinking that that would be the best test of their cheesy chops.  Meh.  Can’t say I’d choose their standard over Velveeta shells.  However, I think Cheese-ology may reward adventuresome ordering because PB’s ‘Bacon, Bacon’ with mozzarella and gruyère was actually pretty tasty.  Do like the personal skillets in which  they serve their macaroni too.  Will be worth another shot for sure.  I have my eye on the Chicken Cordon Bleu.

UPDATE:  It appears Sauce is in agreement.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 12:16 am

    Pearl was rather nonplussed. I had the bleu cheese steak one and found it delightful.

  2. NHR permalink
    October 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    The ‘Bacon, Bacon’ was indeed quite good – and while I too am normally a fan of an excellent brew, it proved impossible to pass up the opportunity to enjoy a Fitz’s Rootbeer with my meal. Next time I think I’ll try the Black & Blue (I have it on good authority that it’s excellent). If I have one complaint, it’s that the $17-some dollars I spent for a large skillet and a rootbeer seemed a tad steep in light of my perception of Mac’n’cheese as relatively simple fare. But it was a good mac’n’cheese as these things go.

  3. lucas permalink
    October 11, 2010 8:48 pm

    I met the owner the other day–he says Bacon Bacon is the best, although not most popular, option on the menu

Leave a Reply

