Skip to content

Of Fee Simples and Limes

September 21, 2010

I like limes.  Margaritas, mojitos, gin & tonics – these are a few of my favorite things.  And when I am detoxing from these delightful beverages, the lime once again comes to my rescue by pepping up my water and my liver.  Which is why I have loveddd the summer long boon that has been 6 limes for $0.99 at the CWE Straub’s.  Limes a’plenty.  I went on Monday though, and what did I find?  4 limes for $0.99.  Oh no!!  Please don’t go, fabulous lime deal.

I became addicted to pretty much always having a pitcher filled with lime-water in my fridge.  Which I like not only for its taste, but also because lime water conjures up – every single time – a passage from Robinson Crusoe (favorite childhood book) where he’s talking about how wholesome and refreshing the limes are in water.  Not surprising since generally anything food related  in book I read as a kid (especially of the picture variety) lodged itself deeply in my head.  Blackberries and cream denied to Peter Rabbit as punishment, Belinda Bunny’s candy shop/general store, chicken noodle soup at the end of Where the Wild Things Are, and on and on.

The Daniel Defoe passage is as follows [only in my later law dork years have I noted the real property reference]:

“I descended a little on the side of the delicious vale, surveying it with a secret kind of pleasure, though mixed with my other afflicting thoughts, to think that this was all my own;  that I was king and lord of all this country indefensibly, and had a right of possession; and if I could convey it, I might have it in inheritance as completely as any lord of a manor in England [fee simple!!!].  I saw here abundance of cocoa trees, orange, and lemon, and citron trees [food!!!]; but all wild, and very few bearing any fruit, at least not then.  However, the green limes that I gathered were not only pleasant to eat, but very wholesome; and I mixed their juice afterwards with water, which made it very wholesome, and very cool and refreshing [LIMES!!!].”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

