Skip to content

A thing of beauty

July 20, 2010

When it comes to cooking, my downfall is (1) impatience and (2) inconsistency.   With regard to numero uno, because I’m damnnnnn stubborn, I will eventually get it right.  Large batch of eclairs with no prior experience with choux pastry — I  had no problem running through a dozen and a half of eggs to DOMINATE YOU.  But, were I just a bit more methodical I wouldn’t have to tackle tricky projects three times in a row.  W/r/t to number two, I’ve always had a penchant for ummmm…innovation, and although the risk of innovation presents great gains, there is also the potential for great failures involving the likes of massive quantities of unset jelly, puke colored ragu, etc.

One thing is for sure though.  I’ve got pie down.  Behold a thing of beauty.

Blackbery Pie.  With hand picked wild blackberry’s from our farm.  About seven cups of blackberry’s, 3/4 a cup of sugar, dash of ginger and cinnamon, and about 1/4 a cup of instant tapioca (for thickening).  Encased in the grandma/marth stewart hybrid crust  (a few posts back) and cooked for a little of an hour at 375 – covered for the middle 30 minutes so as to prevent burning.

I thought it was pretty good, and my dad’s response was even better – and I quote – “this is perhaps the best pie I have ever had.” … My love of ad libbing + my father’s deep loathing of change means he eats many of my culinary creations with a certain amount of trepidation.  That and the fact that my grandmother – his mother –  is a master pie maker meant this was high praise indeed.   Go make some pie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

